Michael Warechowski IV

Updates on our sweet Michael

Reflection

on January 13, 2015

It’s been over a month since I’ve updated and the last time I did write an update, Michael and I had been pretty sick! Well, we are both good now and luckily Mike never caught our nasty sickness!

The holidays were nice. Quiet and somewhat uneventful but nice. We spent Christmas with family and for New Years, it was just the three of us. I don’t have a whole lot to report on Michael, which is a good thing! He does have a little bed sore or pressure ulcer on his ear. He has had it for over a month now and it just won’t get better. Michael prefers to lay with his head turned to one side so even though we try to keep him off of that side, he’ll turn his head. It’s kind of cute to me – like he’s rebelling a little. We put his head one way and he says, “No, I want it this way!” We have a referral for wound care because he might need a little stitch or something to close up the hole. Luckily, it does not seem to bother him but we just have to be careful because these types of sores can spread and because it is on his head, that can be concerning. As expected with this disease, Michael has good days and not-so-good days. But I’m happy to report that overall, he is doing well. He is still having seizures – usually 2-3 a day but that is down from 5-8 a day. We have an appointment with his neurologist this week so we may do another increase in his medication. We’ll see. We are still taking Michael to acupuncture every week. He’s getting massages regularly and enjoying some extra time with his grandmommy (my mom). She recently retired (from nursing) and has been spending a lot of time with Michael. This has allowed me to have some extra time to do things that I want and need to do without feeling as guilty. I know Michael just loves this (Mike and I love it as well because she usually does some chores or laundry when she’s at the house – Thank you mommy!). I always tell him that his grandmommy is coming over and in his own way, tells me, “YAY!”

As far as Mike and me – we have been SO busy at work. In the health and fitness business, the holidays and the New Year are a very busy time! I’m not complaining but I’ll admit, it has been hard for me to take some time away from Michael. On the other hand, it has been very good for me to re-focus on the studio; on my staff and my clients. The studio needs me and I’ve realized recently that I need it too. I love my business (after all, it was my first “baby”) and especially the people who make it possible. Mike and I are surrounded by, hardworking employees and so many wonderful clients who have been so generous, loving and supportive of us.
As I reflect back on 2014, a lot of feelings and thoughts flood my brain. It was a good year….a tough year….a very quick year. But all in all, it was a good, meaningful, special, possitive, motivating, enlightening 365 days filled with LOVE. I can’t help but also think about all of the beautiful children that we lost to this horrible disease (Tyler – 3 yrs, Hannah – 3.5 yrs, Harley – 6 yrs (I think), Tori – 17 yrs, Brayden – 6 yrs, Landon -10 yrs (I think), Katelynn – 5.8 yrs, Mikhail – 8 yrs, Oliver – 4 yrs, Kim, Mac – 10 yrs (I think), Loie – 3.7 yrs) I know there are many more that I cannot think of right now but they are in my heart. Every time a child dies to this disease, it is a horrible reminder of what we face. BUT! Michael brings me so much joy and happiness and he fills my heart with so much love that all I focus on is just that – joy and happiness and enjoying each beautiful day.

And that is my goal for 2015 – to continue to focus on the positive (oh and to get a little more organized :), and take one day at a time. Happy New Year.

4 responses to “Reflection

  1. LizHolden says:

    Thank you so much for your update! I was wondering just yesterday if I’d missed an update. I’m wishing you and yours LOTS of JOY in your hearts in 2015. Peace.

  2. Debbie says:

    I’m so glad to hear things are going relatively good. I think of you all daily and wonder how you and Michael are doing. You have a tough little fighter in that sweet boy. Thank you for taking the time to update us. I hope to see you more in 2015 – here is to a great year for us all!

  3. Heidi says:

    May 2015 be good to Michael & your family. Stay strong!

  4. Graham says:

    Thanks for the great update! Many blessings in 2015–so glad you guys are over the bug

Leave a Reply

