Michael Warechowski IV

Updates on our sweet Michael

“I’m okay. I’ve got this.”

on November 4, 2014

IMG_1118The last few weeks have been rough on Michael. Wait, hold on. The last few weeks?? How about the last 2 1/2 years? I realized today that Michael has officially been sick longer than he has been healthy. From losing all of his abilities, to his autonomic disorder, horrible GI issues, and muscle spasms to hyrdrocephalus, a brain hematoma and 2 brain surgeries, to now dealing with seizures, nausea and pain???  If you saw him through all of this, you’d probably say, “But he looks so good! So alert!” That’s true, he does. Most of the time.  I ask myself every day, “How does this kid do it? And still look happy, content and alert?” Michael is so strong yet so peaceful. He doesn’t seem to let 5 or 8 seizures get him down. He throws up and then has a smirk on his face. It’s like he’s telling me, “Mom, I know I’m sick but I’m okay. I’ve got this.”

When people ask me how I do it, all I have to do is look at Michael and say, “That’s how I do it” (as I point to him). If he can go through everything he goes through, the least I can do is be strong for him. As you saw a few posts ago, some days are hard, sure. Everyone has good days and bad days. But everyday is also a new day and a chance to make it a beautiful day.

We still don’t have any answers. I had to show my serious, “don’t mess with me or my child” attitude to the nurse at Michael’s neurologist office today. I told them I want to do a video EEG so we can see exactly what these episodes or seizures really are. She said, “well, I don’t know if the doctor will feel it’s necessary. He may just need an increase in his medication.” Me (paraphrasing): “WOMAN! We’ve already tried that and he’s not getting any better! I’m not just going to keep increasing his medication when we don’t even know exactly what we’re treating! We are getting the EEG whether it’s at your office or somewhere else!” If I don’t hear back from them by tomorrow, we are going somewhere else. It’s so frustrating because doctors don’t understand MLD. They don’t understand that Michael is not a typical kid – he has countless other issues. That is why we LOVE our Naturopath. We’ve been taking Michael to see him at least once a week every week ever since his diagnosis. He knows and LOVES Michael and does everything he can to understand and to help. He even got on the phone with Kaiser today and demanded they send the report of Michael’s CT Scan. I’ve included a picture of Michael at his acupuncture appointment today (if you look closely, you can see a couple of needles in his legs). Acupuncture always relaxes Michael and he always falls asleep on the way home 🙂

Keep praying for answers and comfort. That is what we need right now. And please continue to share the RIDE to GIVE campaign with whomever you think might want to help. Donations will help pay for Michael’s acupuncture sessions and many other things he needs. Thank you. https://fundrazr.com/campaigns/8tOzb

3 responses to ““I’m okay. I’ve got this.”

  1. Nelda Allen says:

    Some times a Mom has to do what a Mom has to do…………God Bless and sending lots of love & Prayers………..;-) You just don’t mess with a Mom’s Babies……….(y)………Hang in there……..;-)

  2. Taylor S. says:

    YOU’VE GOT THIS!!! Your family is an inspiration to us all. It’s so easy for the rest of us to see how incredibly strong you are in the face of this disease and I hope you never lose sight of that. Peace be with you in this incredibly difficult time. Let the love of your family and neighbors lift you up. Best of luck to you!

  3. Suzanne Elsberry says:

    Katie and Mike,
    You are wonderful parents. God knew you would be and he choose you to receive this precious child. I don’t personally know you but I feel like I do. Michael is getting so big. He is so handsome! He is just beautiful. I pray for y’all daily. Thank you for the update. I understand your time is limited. Praying for results and better days for your precious Michael.

Leave a Reply

