Michael Warechowski IV

Updates on our sweet Michael

on February 2, 2014

ImageI apologize for not updating sooner – January  has been a crazy month (busy at work, issues with my dad’s health, I hurt my foot and couldn’t walk for almost a week, crazy weather, etc.).  I sincerely hope it is not an indication of how the rest of 2014 is going to be….

All in all, Michael is well. He is very snotty but I remember him being like this last winter as well. Luckily, it’s not in his chest – its more of a post-nasal drip kind of thing. It annoys the crap out of him, poor baby. He loves when I suction him and get it all out. He sighs afterward like, “thank you mommy, that feels so much better!” 

In my last update, we were concerned that his shunt was not working but after getting a follow up CT scan and visiting his neurosurgeon, it is evident that the shunt is doing it’s job. That does not answer the question of, “why is Michael having seizures now?” His seizures have become more frequent, sometimes 3 a day. He is still having episodes of discomfort as well (maybe its related to the seizures?). We took him in for an EEG last Tuesday (the day of the big Atlanta Snowpocalypse). We should get the results this week. We will then have an appointment with his neurologist to see whats going on and if he needs a new medication or something. Just what he needs – another medication. As if getting 5 different meds 10 times a day isn’t enough…

I want to let everyone know about an upcoming fundraiser for my Michael. Some very close friends of ours lost their son last year – he was only 25 years old and his death was completely unexpected. They are obviously devastated but because of our situation, we have become even closer with this family. Their son, Nick, was a talented musician and last year they did a fundraiser called Bowl for Nick and donated the proceeds to the Atlanta Music Project. This year they have decided to donate all the proceeds to Micheal. So if you are in the area and are looking for a fun way to support our family, please come out and bowl a few games, honor Nick’s memory, and support Mike, Michael and me. Click on this link to sign up and get more information. 

We hope to see everyone there (spread the word and bring your friends and family)!

P.S. I know everyone likes to see pictures of Michael so I’m including one of him that I took the other day. This was right before bedtime. 

2 responses to “

  1. Keleigh says:

    I just read about you and your sweet family. I want you to know you have another prayer warrior praying for Michael and your family.

  2. I am praying for you and your little boy. I don’t understand why and can not imagine what you two are feeling, but I hope you enjoy every second with him. Know there are many people that you don’t even know that are praying for your family. Please give him a hug and kisses from all of us out here and know that we care.

Leave a Reply

