Michael Warechowski IV

Updates on our sweet Michael

on December 13, 2013

I’m going to keep this short and to the point because I’m exhausted and I just want to go snug on the couch with Michael 🙂

It’s been 3 weeks since Michael was rushed to the hospital for emergency surgery for his hydrocephalus. His recovery has been slow but he is definitely on the mend. We had his post-op appointment this past Tuesday and the neurosurgeon said it does take about 3-4 weeks to feel better and since Michael is such a complicated little cutie, it will take him a bit longer. He has thrown up a couple times (which we were hoping would stop altogether once he had the surgery) and he has been a little more picky about his positioning. He can’t lay in one position for too long or he gets uncomfortable. He has also been more uncomfortable in the evenings so we’ve been giving him some Ibuprofen when we feel like he really needs it. 

He is also not quite back to his baseline from a GI standpoint. We had gotten him up to a feed rate of 100 ml/hr and now we’re back to his old continuous rate of 65 ml/hr. Two steps forward and 3 steps back. That’s how it seems lately, anyway. 

Michael is still giving us smiles almost everyday. He is so tough and such a little fighter. He truly amazes me. 

I was out doing some Christmas shopping and general errands today and almost broke down and cried in the store. I saw so many things I wanted to get for Michael or that I thought he’d enjoy; kids out with their parents; parents with carts full of toys. This is a tough time of year but I’m holding it together. 

I’ve attached a recent picture of Michael so you can see how handsome he is 🙂 Happy Holidays everyone!Image

5 responses to “

  1. Teryn says:

    Love the picture of Michael! I get the “hard time of year”. I can cry at the littlest things during the holidays. Praying you all have a great holiday and Michael continues to improve!

  2. K says:

    Your family is in my prayers. I can only imagine how you must feel especially this time of year.
    KH

  3. Heidi says:

    He is such a handsome,strong & courageous little guy! Sending prayers & holiday blessings to you all.

  4. Shon Woods says:

    I can imagine how hard it is. 😦 As always, praying for Michael, you, and your husband.

  5. Natalie Hunt says:

    I’m not sure if you remember me, but I met you once at a birthday party for Tommy Mancino’s daughter, Aria. Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I check this journal every single day to read your updates. I can’t imagine what you are going thru. But I do know this, Michael could not have better, more patient, loving parents than you and your husband. He is truly one very lucky little guy. Please know that you are all in my thoughts and prayers everyday.

Leave a Reply

