Michael Warechowski IV

Updates on our sweet Michael

Happy Birthday Michael

on May 1, 2013

476954_10151885509408916_187150353_o

Yesterday (April 30th 2013) was Michael’s 3rd birthday.

Every day is precious, but especially birthdays. There have been moments when I thought we were going to lose Michael. I cherish every single moment that he is with us because I know these moments will end too soon.
The picture I included with this post is a picture of the best day of my life – when Michael Warechowski IV was born. 6 lbs, 6 oz and 19 1/2 inches long. He was nearly a week late but born perfectly healthy (or so we thought) at 12:40am on a Friday night, after 36 hours of labor and 3 hours of pushing.
He has taught Mike and I so much about life. He has strengthened our hearts and souls, taught us about patience and true love. He is the most amazing thing that has ever been created. I still can’t believe I get to call him mine. I look at him and all I can think about is how perfect he is and how lucky I am to be his mommy.
We had a good day yesterday. It began in the morning as I was in his room watching him sleep. When he finally opened his eyes I sang him Happy Birthday and told him it was a beautiful day. I gave him nice long bath and then rocked him for about an hour. He received a few visitors throughout the day, got a massage from mommy and then after me reading 5 books to him, he finally fell asleep about 1/2 way through “Goodnight Moon” (one of his favorites). He slept well last night except from 3:30-4:00am (his monitor went off with his heart rate in the 150’s). I think he just missed me 🙂 I re-positioned him and laid with him until he fell back asleep. It was a good day.
I want to say a HUGE THANK YOU to everyone who came to the Miles for Mikey 5k. Mike and I were blown away at the turn-out. I mean, I can’t even tell you how touching it was to see everyone out there because they love us and they love Mikey. My heart was (and still is) so full. Thank you to Elizabeth, Janet and Emily along with all the volunteers, ghost runners and everyone who made donations to Mikey’s Mission. We are grateful beyond words.
Michael is still pretty steady – struggling with his vertigo pretty regularly but we are able to “snap him out of it” and it doesn’t seem to bother him as much anymore. Almost like he’s getting used to it. Sad huh?
I’ll post again soon. Thanks for checking in!
2 responses to “Happy Birthday Michael

  1. elizabeth says:

    happy birthday, beautiful boy!!

  2. Brenda says:

    Happy Birthday Michael! You are a beautiful 3 year old with a beautiful Soul. You are truly blessed with wonderful parents and family.

Leave a Reply

