Michael Warechowski IV

Updates on our sweet Michael

When did life get so hard?

on February 4, 2013

I guess I’ve just been lucky enough to have an easy, happy and successful life. Then, a year ago it suddenly all got so hard.

My heart has really been hurting lately. Some very dear friends (and clients) of ours unexpectedly lost their 25-year old son a few months ago. At least 4 MLD kids have past in the last few months. I mentioned Henry last month but last night, another beautiful boy named Montgomery “Gummy” earned his wings as well. FMLD!! Then while I was at the gym today I got a call that one of my clients had died. I’ve been trying to “save peoples’ lives” (through proper diet and exercise) for 10 years now and this is the first client I’ve lost. I’m just so sad over this and all the other losses happening around me.

People ask me, “what can I do?” We’ll here is what you can do. Live every day to the fullest. Be grateful for every moment. Be especially grateful for every person in your life. Be kind to people. Put yourself out there and don’t worry about what people think. Don’t hesitate for a moment to tell the ones in your life how much you love them; how neat you think they are. I wish I would have told my client that he was known around the studio as “the man who knew it all.” He could answer any question. He really did know everything. And I thought he was so cool. But I never told him that.
Don’t get mad over stupid things. Instead, just breathe and laugh about it. I’m still trying to practice what I preach and I’m definitely not successful every day but no one is perfect, right?

I have learned more in the last year than I think I’ve learned in my entire life. I am so grateful for the love and support in my life – most of all, my husband, Mike who is always there for me and who always knows how to make me smile.

And most of all, thank you Michael, for giving me the greatest gift in the world – being a mom. You are everything I could ever ask for in a son.

Hug your children super tight tonight. Tell them just how much you love them. No matter how young, they still know what you are saying.

4 responses to “When did life get so hard?

  1. Chrissy Gray says:

    Lean on Jesus, give Him all your worries and cares. He will comfort you in a way no one can.

  2. June says:

    Too true Katie. Sometimes we all need to refocus on the important and special things in life- Love and family. Being thankful isn’t always easy, as we know, but it is always important. And ya know- when I do stop and think of the things to be thankful for ,I instantly feel better.

  3. Debbie says:

    I’m so sorry for all the loss that you have experienced – it just doesn’t seem fair! My heart weighs heavy with yours! Katie, you are so wise, giving, compassionate, caring, tough, loving, nurturing, and kind and you are a fighter! You represent to me all those things that are good in this world! You have experienced things nobody should have to experience and in spite of it all you turn it around and teach others to be grateful, open themselves up to new things and people, to be kind and appreciate what they have and to love – WOW! Stay strong Katie! You are so amazing! And as you continue this journey you are all on please remember to lean on those that care so much for you, Mike and Michael – we are here to help you when you need us!

  4. Shon says:

    Thank you Katie! Beautiful words and I thank you for them.

    Shon

Leave a Reply

