Michael Warechowski IV

Updates on our sweet Michael

Rough few days…

on July 12, 2012

I finally broke down tonight – the tears, they were a’flowin’! The last week has been rough. I still just can’t believe how fast Michael is declining. I kept wanting to blame it on a cold that was coming on or something else I just made up. I guess denial is a part of this process.

Michael pretty much just sits around these days. He’ll let us read a book or two to him but he gets frustrated because he doesn’t know how to say the words anymore. I know he knows the words but he just can’t get them out. It’s so sad.
Feeding him has become an hour long chore whereas, it used to be one of the the most fun parts of our day – full of laughs. I never thought I’d say something like this but I cannot wait until we get his g-tube put in. He hasn’t gained a pound in months. He’s on the verge of underweight and the fact that he’s not eating a lot has to affect his energy. I can’t help but think that once we get the proper nutrition in him, he’ll be a little better. So what is the delay in getting the g-tube surgery, you may be wondering? Well, we were warned that the GI doctor would most likely not want to do it until absolutely necessary. They have more of a reactive approach as opposed to a proactive approach. So the team from Pittsburgh is going to have to get involved and explain why we need it now. I mean, it’s only been about 10 days since we saw the GI doctor and Michael is struggling to eat more now than he was 10 days ago. Hello!
Mike and I are just so frustrated, mad, sad, confused and overwhelmed. Thank you to everyone who has been there for us when we need a nap at the last minute (Kallie, mom and Kristi) and for those who have kept him overnight so Mike and I can have some alone time (Nona and b-bop) and to those who have brought us yummy, healthy dinners so I don’t have to worry about that (you know who you are). There is no way we could make it through this without all of you. We love you all so much.
Mike and I will be leaving Michael for the first time since we found about his MLD. We are going to FL for a friend’s wedding. It is definitely going to be tough but thankfully, he will be in the next best hands possible – Nona, B-bop, Grandmommy and Aunt Kallie. Thank you for making this possible.
I hope to have an update about Michael’s g-tube surgery soon. Til then…

2 responses to “Rough few days…

  1. I’m soo sorry Katie. ❤ You are strong and brave.

  2. Kathryn says:

    I am glad that you and Mike are going to spend some time in Florida. A healthy strong marriage will help you through this. Rich and I love all three of you so much!

Leave a Reply

