Michael Warechowski IV

Updates on our sweet Michael

Disney was GREAT!

on June 16, 2012

Well we are finally recovered from all the recent traveling. We returned home from Disney World late this past Wednesday. We had a blast. Southwest vacations paid for both my mom and Mike’s mom to go with us. So not only did we have some help but Michael was spoiled with loving attention by the people he loves most. Because his grandmothers were there, Mike and I got to go out on a date one night. One of our most amazing clients was able to get us tickets to the Cirque Du Soleil show. It was so fun!

Thank goodness for the guest assistance pass that we were given – we didn’t wait more than 5-10 minutes to ride any ride. It was extremely hot and I think the heat wore Michael out a bit. He fell asleep right in the middle of lunch on our first day! The Nemo ride at Epcot was his favorite but he also loved Winnie the Pooh and Peter Pan. I’d love to go back some day!

Michael is doing pretty well. We increased his meds because the pain seems to be getting a little worse. We have a referral to see a doctor about getting a G-tube put in. Dr. Escolar says its much better to put the G-tube in while he’s still healthy. We can still feed him by mouth as long as we can but at least we have the G-tube to administer medications and make sure he’s getting the nutrition he needs. We will be starting occupational therapy and speech therapy soon. We have started to notice a little decline in his speech. He seems to still know his words but when he talks, he’s a little harder to understand.

Mike and I are hanging in there. I’ve been doing a really good job at “living in the moment” and not focusing on the future and what will happen. But when I got the email from Michael’s doctor stating it was time for more medications, therapy and a G-tube surgery, I got very sad. It’s all happening. I forget sometimes that he’s sick and when I’m reminded, it’s really hard. I’m so lucky to have such amazing people around me. Mike is the best. My family is awesome. My friends, clients and employees have been amazing. I’m just so lucky.

20120616-110406.jpg

Leave a Reply

